Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Powder Puff Girl

I don’t want to jinx anything but I think I’ve finally found my holy grail face products. Powder was the only sticking point for me lately and I had decided, after trying various products, I was going to have to re-order my Make Up For Ever HD powder as it gave the best finish.

A little mooching online however told me that the ELF HD powder (£6) was not only similar, but superior to the MUFE version so I was onto ELF and had their HD powder in my basket before you could say ‘makeup-aholic’.

So what’s the verdict? Let’s just say as soon as I tried it, it was love. This is one of those magical powders that doesn’t just matify, it actually improves your makeup, blurring imperfections and giving a near perfect finish. It also lasted the entire day without needing a touch up. Good god it’s  messy, but worth the hassle!

I had also been intrigued enough to order Illamasqua’s powder in P005 (€20) which, when you see it, is bright pink and looks exactly like a blush, so much so I had to check the back to make sure they’d sent me the right product! This comes in pressed and loose versions but I could only find the pressed version, which wasn’t even in stock on the Illamasqua website, thank goodness for Debenhams online!

This is an unusual product. If you use a light hand, this will go on clear and have a nice brightening effect on the skin. Too heavy though and you’ll look pink. I’ve been using a light sweep of this after my normal powder and it gives a lovely finish. However this is a luxury item rather than a must have!

So girls what’s your favourite powders or do you bother with them at all? Let me know!

6 comments on “Powder Puff Girl

  1. anitabeauty
    May 30, 2012

    I love that E.L.F powder,have been using it for years.

  2. ive just started using powders like these, that ELF one sounds good

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 30, 2012

      It’s really fantastic and such good value for the size!

  3. beyoutifulmakeup
    May 30, 2012

    I dug my elf powder out the other day when you asked about it and used iT yesterday and worked great that I couldn’t remember why I stopped using it ? Think for me when Im on the go it’s just that pressed powder is handy to have. But lately I’ve been using loose translucent because its lighter on my face in this weather

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 30, 2012

      Yeah it’s really amazing and better than the Make Up For Ever one which is mad:) Really kept away the shine as well!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2012 by in Face, Home, Reviews and tagged , .
