Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Skincare Routine Breakdown

A skincare routine is a funny thing, sometimes all you can be bothered with is a makeup wipe and a quick slop of moisturiser, other times it’s an enormous operation with endless potions and bottles strewn around the bathroom.

So here’s a sneak peek at my skincare routine that I try to fit in every night to give my face some much needed TLC. It’s overly complicated and long, but I always feel good after doing it!

Garnier Simply Essentials:

I love these two and use them at home as well as in my makeup class. They both are suitable for eyes and face but I use the two in one oil makeup remover for the eyes and then follow with the cream cleanser all over the face. They’re cheap, they don’t irritate my skin or eyes and they do just as good a job, if not better, than many more expensive alternatives. These can be found in Boots and other pharmacies nationwide.

Vichy Calming Cleansing Micellar Solution:

If I want to make sure every scrap of makeup is removed or for nights where I just use a cleanser, a good splash of this really does wonders and leaves skin feeling fresh and light. I like this as an alternative to cream cleansers which can sometimes make your skin feel like it already has a good deal of product on it before you even consider a moisturiser, whereas with this, your skin feels squeaky clean.

Perricone MD SUPER Moisturising Activator:

This is a fab toner for skin that’s infused with Omega 3 and AHA’s to stop it stripping away your skin and leaving it feeling tight and uncomfortable. I do find this stings a tiny bit around my most sensitive areas but this doesn’t occur on my mam who frequently robs this from me. There are four different activators in the range aimed at different needs (and honestly I want them all) and this one helps moisturise the skin while toning those pesky pores.This range is now available in Boots Stores so keep an eye out. It’s €34 but will last absolutley ages. Dr. Perricone really knows his stuff, so I’ll happily continue to use this!

Korres Wild Rose Exfoliating Cleanser:

I don’t use an exfoliating cleanser every night but I need one a few times a week, especially around my nose area. This whisks away dry skin with a combination of pearls derived from rice seeds and cherry stones and doesn’t irritate my skin. It’s soap free and infused with wild rose oil to help brighten the skin while combating nasty impurities. At €16, it’s mid priced and assuming you won’t use this every single day, the generous bottle size will keep your skin content for many, many months. Korres is available from Debenhams or can be found online.

Antipodes Joyous Replenish Serum:

I’ve reviewed this one in more detail before, and since then it’s been massaged into my face almost every night. It doesn’t make skin oily but hydrates it with it’s deep mix of oils and helps keep skin plump and radiant. I really love this one and won’t leave a serum out of my night time routine again! Antipodes can be found in selected pharmacies or can be bought online.

Arbonne Corrective Eye Cream and Perricone MD Nourishing Moisturiser:

Having eye cream in sachets may seem a bit odd but I ordered a bunch of them off EBay as they were cheaper than the actual bottle! These are raved about online and true to form they get rid of pesky dehydration lines and soften fine lines. I’ve reviewed the Perricone MD moisturiser before and have been using it religiously since then. At €70, it’s eye wateringly expensive, but does a good job so I’ll happily finish the lot!

OptiBac Probiotic Tablets:

Finally, I’ve also been taking OptiBac probiotics to try and help solve my skincare woes from the inside as well as the outside! These bad boys each contain billions of microorganisms per capsule which help aid your whole system and alleviate toxins in the body which are responsible for a whole host of nasties including spots! You can read up all about these little capsules right here.

So this is my routine at the moment (not including masks of course), what are your skincare must haves and are you good with your nightly routine? Let me know!

12 comments on “Skincare Routine Breakdown

  1. awkwardcelebrity
    April 13, 2012

    great skin care routine! I love that you included the tablets! I take biotin for my hair skin and nails and I definitely feel like it gives a boost to the products that I use

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 13, 2012

      Excellent, think it’s great to help the inside as well as the outside!

  2. YourBeauty
    April 13, 2012

    Great routine, it funny i just bought some books by Perricone to follow his diet :). Will have a look for skincare too.

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 13, 2012

      It’s not cheap but very well made, let me know if you try anything from the brand!

  3. Lil Miss Shanghai
    April 14, 2012

    I love Perrecone products! Im not familiar with that toner, but if it tones pores, I’m in!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 14, 2012

      It’s a nice range targeting different needs so check out which one you’d like the most!

  4. Beauty Bird
    April 14, 2012

    So interesting to read your skincare routine, I have one that I follow religiously morning and night and a lot of my friends just use a make-up wipe and they’re done!
    Where can you buy the Optibac tablets from?
    Thanks! 🙂

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 14, 2012

      They’re available in bigger pharmacies as far as I know! Glad you enjoyed the read:)

      • OptiBac Probiotics
        April 16, 2012

        Hi there,

        Actually we tend to stock in independent health food shops and pharmacies – you can find your nearest using the stockist locator on our homepage – http://www.optibacprobiotics.co.uk – or buy online.

        Many thanks,

        Soraya

      • smokeyeyesmua
        April 16, 2012

        Thanks for the info Soraya!

  5. florarosereviews
    April 15, 2012

    I really want some of the Perricone SUPER range, I need to save up a little first though, have you tried anything else from that range?

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 16, 2012

      I have an eye cream and moisturiser which are really nice, it’s a trusted brand so you feel a bit safer investing in it!

Leave a Reply

