Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Review: Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

I’ve been trying out a lot of foundations lately, a lot of expensive foundations for that matter, in search of something light and moisturising that gives natural coverage. I bought a gorgeous foundation (which I’ll review shortly) but was disappointed by how many big budget offerings didn’t quite meet my expectations.

So I was very pleasantly surprised when I was given a selection of Rimmel’s new foundations, Wake Me Up, to review. Nicely packaged in durable bottles with a cute orange top and handy pump applicator, these promise to give an anti-fatigue effect and a radiant glow.

I have to say these really impressed me. They give a lovely light coverage that I think is perfect for spring and summer and enhances your skin without being obvious. Some people of course prefer a heavier coverage for their skin but, if like me, you like a foundation that’s more akin to a tinted moisturiser or a BB cream but offers a little more staying power and coverage, this is well worth trying out. It also glides over dry spots and won’t settle into any pesky fine lines. It also boasts an SPF 15 which I love and is a must in the upcoming sunnier months.

I have to say this outperformed a whole host of expensive foundations I tried in Brown Thomas a few weeks back and I’d highly recommend it to anyone looking for this type of foundation. The only downside was that the lightest shade is a touch too dark for my very pale skin but, for the majority, the 6 shades on offer will suit most skin tones.

My verdict? Skip the department stores and head into Boots or your local pharmacy and check this out, you won’t be disappointed!

Marks out of 10: 8/10

Who will this work for: Those with dry skin, those who like light luminous coverage

9 comments on “Review: Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

  1. Melissa
    March 2, 2012

    Sounds really nice! Pity about the colour. I like a full coverage but sometimes it’s nice to switch it up. How did it last for you through the day?

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 2, 2012

      Lasted well but I always use a good primer which helps! Will let you take a closer look tomo:)

  2. I have this too! I find it flawless! Really love ti! Great post!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 2, 2012

      Thanks:) It’s great when you find a product that performs really well and is a bargain to boot!

  3. YourBeauty
    March 6, 2012

    Tried it from a sample, its nice but my oily skin didn’t cope with it. By lunch time i was a shiny messy disco ball

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 6, 2012

      Ah that’s a pity, I’m combination myself so found it lasted fine but it’s the problem if you’re oily but want a light and dewy look at the same time!

  4. Lenah
    March 22, 2012

    Agree, really like it. I have sensitive and slightly dry skin and have a problem finding good ones but this, considering the price, surprised me in a positive way. Worth buying!!

  5. Pingback: Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation « BeYoutiful Makeup

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2012 by in Face, Home, News, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
