Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Primers Put to the Test

I’m mildly obsessed with primers and their magic ability to improve your skin whilst keeping your make up looking flawless throughout the day. Here’s a round up of the primers I’ve been testing recently and their results:

Clinique Instant Pore Perfector: After reading rave reviews all over the web, I had  high expectations for this supposed miracle worker. This did help cover my pores nicely, but I found it a bit too drying for my skin, especially after I layered a BB cream on top of it. If your skin is oilier, this would be perfect but, if like me, your skin is greasy but dry, make sure to moisturise well beforehand.

Mac Prep and Prime Face Protect SPF 50: The consistency of this is quite similar to sunscreen but it dries quickly on the skin and provides a good base for make up. For oilier skin, this may not stand up as well as some of the others but is a solid all rounder. This also garners kudos for boasting an SPF 50, a must have in my opinion and the only primer I can think of that has such a high level of sun protection.

Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel: In a nutshell, this is an amazing primer for supressing greasiness throughout the day while keeping your make up in place. It improves the look of your skin but doesn’t cause breakouts despite being so powerful.For a more detailed review, click here.

Shu Uemura UV Base in Pink:  I’ve reviewed this product in more detail here but to sum it up, my initial misgivings about this product have now been quashed and I now find myself turning to this product more and more frequently. It offers a subtle pink sheen to skin when applied sparingly, the key is to learn to apply a walnut sized amount and no more to skin and blend well. This also has an SPF 30 which is a big plus in my opinion.

Benefit The POREfessional: I’m seriously impressed with this one. It seems to be a combination of the best aspects of my beloved Peter Thomas Roth Primer coupled with the benefits of Clinique’s Instant Pore Perfector. It helps disguise pores while leaving a silky smooth feel on the face that didn’t dry out my skin but kept it matt throughout the day. It also kept my makeup looking flawless and throughly intact.

So my pick of the bunch? I’d have to say the Shu Uemura UV Base in pink. I love the little sheen it gives to my skin while still providing a matt base and the spf is a lovely extra. All these primers are impressive in their own right, I think the key is finding which provides the most benefits for your skin type.

I’ve used all my Mac Prep and Prime but here are swatches of the other four products. From top: Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Gel, Benefit The POREfessional, Shu Uemura UV Base in Pink, Clinique Instant Pore Perfector.

Leave a Reply

