Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Review: Shu Uemura UV Base SPF30 in Pink

I’m constantly in search of the perfect makeup to make my skin look fresh, glowing and natural. Basically my skin, only much, much better. But what girl isn’t??

I’ve found what I think is my must have coverage and primer (both of which I’ll review in the upcoming days) but I’m still in search of that illusive inbetweener, the product that has a very good SPF and brightens the skin without caking it. This seems to be a hard product to find as my skin doesn’t react well when laden with make up and so far a primer and BB Cream seem to be the best combo; anything else just starts to look a little too much. So basically I’m looking for something light and airy that gives sun protection and a nice sheen on the skin, hence me forking out 35 euro in Brown Thomas last week on the little bad boy above!

She Uemura are undoubtedly a fabulous brand and I’m already deeply in love with their eyebrow pencil (again which I’ll review shortly) so after some research online I decided to take the plunge and see if the fuss was warranted!

There are both pink and beige options for the UV Base but as I’m pale I opted for the pink, which comes unboxed in the can above. The product works like a mousse, and therefore you need to be careful to not dispense too much product when you’re using it. The foam is a light pink colour when it comes out and dissolves into a slightly whiter looking foam when it comes in contact with skin. I’d recommend using it sparingly at first as it can leave a white cast even on my pale Irish skin so start off lightly and build up as needed. It leaves a very subtle sheen on the skin that lightens a little and certainly makes the skin look more even. It can take a few minutes to dry in if you use a fair amount so I’d leave this to sink in properly before you attempt to layer another product over it.

All in all it’s nice, but a little too white rather than pink for my liking. It did improve my skin a little, but not enough to warrant the price tag. I used this as a primer and it does a decent enough job in that respect although if you have very oily skin you may need something separate underneath. I’ll certainly use the rest of the can and learn how to get the best results with a little more blending or a little less product, but for now the jury is out.

Product Rating: 7/10

Would I buy again? Unsure

2 comments on “Review: Shu Uemura UV Base SPF30 in Pink

  1. cornflakegirl
    January 14, 2012

    I’d never heard of this product before, such a shame that it didn’t live up to its price tag for you.

    • smokeyeyesmua
      January 14, 2012

      I know! Especially as it’s quite expensive but I’m going to see if I can get better results with it if I can, could just be me:)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2012 by in Face, Home, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , .
