Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Body Shop Booty and the Cruelty-Free Conundrum

 

My bunny eyeing me up as I put on my face in the mornings sealed the deal for me. I’ve decided that any makeup I buy for my personal use will now be cruelty free. I’ll still review any products that are sent my way, but you will see at the end of each post if they’re cruelty free and anything that isn’t goes in my kit or to the many hungry vultures who eagerly wait to snap up any makeup I have hanging around after reviews!

What I didn’t forsee with my decision was that how much of a gigantic pain in the behind it is to actually find brands that are cruelty free. It’s disheartening and a complete eye-opener when you realise how few brands actually fall into this category. 

Thankfully, The Body Shop remain cruelty free and despite some people shunning them now that they’re owned by L’Oreal who do test on animals, I think it’s important to support a brand when they’re making the effort and will very happily shop here.

So down to the products.  These are brand new products and were sent to me after I couldn’t attend the recent Body Shop event. Firstly, the primer which comes from the new Lily Cole range. Now I love primers and have tried and tested more than my fair share. Some have been amazing, some good, some not so good. Unfortunately this particular primer falls into the last catagory.

Looking a little similar to Guerlain’s light diffusing primer, this prettily packaged primer is full of pink pearls set in gel which burst when you pump out the product.

However, this is hard to mix and blend onto skin and, even when you do, the difference isn’t worth the effort. It leaves the skin looking pretty much the same as before with some tiny particles of glitter. I was very disappointed with this one unforuntately.

But on to the highs. Next in line is not makeup but an oil and a body mist. First up is the strawberry beautifying oil which is a gorgeous multi-purpose product that can be used on your face, body or hair and has a subtle fruity smell. It’s non greasy and is one of those all-purpose products perfect for packing on holidays.

Finally, my absolute favorite is the new range of body mists. I was sent Satsuma which is delicious, fresh and really summery. It is strong smelling but the scent has disappeared after a few hours which is a pity. However, I love it so much I’ll happily stick it in my bag to top up on the go!

The Body Shop can be a little more expensive and like any brand, their products can be hit and miss, but they’re well worth investing in once you’ve done your research on what products really deliver, all safe in the knowledge that no bunnies or other furry lads were hurt in the process!

So what’s your thoughts when buying makeup – do you ever consider what’s cruelty free and would that change your buying decisions based on that? Let me know!

 

24 comments on “Body Shop Booty and the Cruelty-Free Conundrum

  1. Simba
    May 21, 2012

    Love the sound of the satsuma mist. Yummy :)

    That pearl primer is really interesting looking when in the bottle, shame it didn’t deliver.

    Regarding cruelty free, it’s such a shame that so few companies seem willing to go the whole hog (bad animal pun not intended).

    If there is a cruelty free alternative available, it’s a huge deal breaker for me, even if I know I am missing out on a quality product. Companies have shown that there are alternative methods available, animal testing just seems the easy way out for some. :(

    Was so disappointed to hear that MAC are now testing on animals too. They want to branch out to sell in China but are going to alienate a lot of fans with the move.

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      Thanks for commenting:) I know I was devastated that MAC are now, I was planning to buy a few bits from them but I won’t now, even though it pains me!!

      When you see brands like Illamasqua, Stila and Urban Decay can release fab products without animal cruelty being involved, it makes you realise there’s really no excuse for it!

  2. anonymoushedonist
    May 21, 2012

    whoa how come the primer looks so.. lumpy? it looked so pretty in the bottle! :(

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      I know it’s surprisingly poor which is a pity, does blend in eventually but you really have to work at it!

    • Simba
      May 21, 2012

      Very lumpy :(

      Took a while to blend I take Smokey?

      • smokeyeyesmua
        May 21, 2012

        A long time and really not worth the effort unfortunately!

  3. anitabeauty
    May 21, 2012

    I was so disappointed in the primer too,but the other products in the range are lovely. I’ve also been making a conscious decision to go cruelty free but its hard to know who does and doesnt test on animals.

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      No one really wants you to know so it makes it difficult!! Agree the other products are really nice, can’t stop spraying the satsuma spray on myself:)

  4. Laura
    May 21, 2012

    I’m LOVING the dry oil! I got the shea. It smells sooo nice!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      Yeah they’re really yummy and love that you can use them all over:)

  5. Beauty Bird
    May 21, 2012

    Really liking the sound of the beautifying oil, the problem is deciding which scent to go for!!
    For some reason when I look at buying makeup I just don’t seem to consider whether they’re cruelty free or not, perhaps naively I’ve assumed that generally brands don’t test on animals… which is pretty bad really!x

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      I’ve honestly been the same assuming companies don’t! Take a sniff of the oils next time you’re passing a store by and smell the body sprays as well, yum!

  6. Mandy
    May 21, 2012

    That primer looks so neat in the bottle, too bad about the quality. Definitely will have to go in a Body Ship for a sniff of that Satsuma spray! xx

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      I know a shame about the primer but the other makeup in the Lily Cole range looks nice!

  7. Annabel
    May 21, 2012

    It makes me happy when people decide to go cruelty free! good on you!
    I did a post last month on animal testing and brands that do and don’t if you’d like to take a look :)

    http://fragmentedsplendour.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/popular-brands-and-animal-testing-list.html

    I didn’t get them all… because my mind drew a blank after a while but it’s good to know for most brands! :)
    xo

  8. nonfashionista
    May 21, 2012

    This is a really helpful post! I never check if the products I use are animal cruelty free and often forget that, but it’s really important. Thanks for reminding us that there are brands you make an effort agains it!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      Good to be aware of what brands do try and make a special effort to be cruelty free, thanks for commenting:)

  9. beyoutifulmakeup
    May 21, 2012

    Who actually wants products tested on animals its so crazy to think in this day and age it’s still going on. I haven’t tried anything from the body shop since I was in my late teens. It’s great they don’t do animal testing. Pity about the primer it looks so cool but if it’s no good all the nice design is pointless!

    I can’t believe that MAC are testing on animals ! Didn’t know this was confirmed! Sad day!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 21, 2012

      Very sad, hopefully they’ll reverse it if enough people complain! Delighted there’s still some great cruelty free brands to choose from anyway, including Sleek and Collection 2000:)

  10. femmenagerie
    May 24, 2012

    Been thinking about getting the beautifying oil and body mist. Aside from the Satsuma spray, what scent comes in next? :) Though I’m leaning towards strawberry for the dry oil. :)

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 24, 2012

      The beautifying oil comes in a satsuma scent as well if you want to combine the best of both worlds:) The Satsuma Body Spray is the only one I’ve smelt but honestly it’s gorgeous, if the others are as nice we’re in for a treat:)

  11. Sarah
    May 24, 2012

    I’ve heard lots of good things about the oils, I’ll definitely have to try them out and they seem like a surprisingly good price! Shame about the primer especially as it looks so pretty!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 24, 2012

      I know big disappointment but other makeup in the range looks great!:)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2012 by in Face, Home, Reviews, Skincare and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

