Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Sigma Brushes Haul!

I’d fallen a little out of love with my Inglot synthetic brush set after my makeup course as I still felt, despite the mammoth 42 brushes, there were still gaps I needed to fill with other brushes. After trying out the Sigma Synthetic F80 Kabuki brush and realising just how impressive the brand were, I did a little research and realised they were who I wanted to invest in.

So after selling on my Inglot set to a happy new owner, I clicked straight onto Cloud10 and spent my money in a whirlwind. I wanted cruelty free brushes that were top of the range and that’s exactly what I got. Sigma really are an incredible brand and after using these brushes on myself and then on my photoshoot on Saturday I can now firmly say I adore these brushes. Take a peek below for the breakdown!

Sigma F82 Round Top Kabuki (€15.95)

Sigma Kabuki brushes are a god send and if anyone wants a beautiful finish to their base, I would recommend these brushes all day long. I already have the F80 Flat Top Kabuki so was really interested to try out another from the range. I have to say even though I adore the F80, I think I may love this one a tiny bit more! This incredibly dense, round topped brush ensures that foundation looks even and as flawless as possible when you use a gentle buffing motion to blend. I think this pips the F80 just a tiny bit as it’s round top makes it slightly easier to work with on the curves of the face but the incredible results are the same from both. This really worked wonders on all the girls I used it on with a variety of bases.

P84 Precision Angled Contour Brush

Contouring is a whole new world for me, one I have a little trouble with, so I decided I needed the best tools possible to help me learn. This small angled brush is perfect for contouring cheekbones, chins or around the nose area. I found this brush really helpful, although to be honest, contouring is still definitely a work in progress for me!

Firstly, the Mrs. Bunny kit from Sigma is just all kinds of gorgeous. I love my girlie colours so had to opt for the pink and blue set but if you’re a bit more understated the Mr. Bunny kit contains all the same brushes and comes in black. At €110, this set does cost a pretty penny but is incredibly good value when you discover just how well crafted these brushes are.  The hard wearing container the brushes come in easily snaps into two section providing two cups to distribute your brushes into with extra room to add your own favourites. I have a detailed review of each brush below but it’s safe to say I adore this kit!

From left to right: F60 Foundation, F40 Large Angled Contour, F50 Duo Fibre, F30 Large Powder

F60 Foundation Brush: I’m not a huge lover of flat foundation brushes like this but found this perfect for applying primer. This is a lovely brush and I’d have no problems using it for any type of base but just love the finish the Kabuki brushes give.

F40 Large Angled Contour: Another baby soft brush that glides over the skin and is perfect for contouring or applying blush. I used it for just blush on the photoshoot and the super soft synthetic hairs make it really easy to apply and blend colour onto the cheeks.

F50 Duo Fibre: This is another brush that you can tailor to your own makeup needs (I used this with highlighters) but this brush would work great with foundations, powders or anything else you can think of really!

F30 Large Powder: If this brush was big enough, I’d lay my head down on it and fall asleep, it’s that soft. This generous brush is perfect for giving exactly the right touch of soft powder to the face and blends it in with an almost airbrushed effect.

E60 Large Shader, E40 Tapered Blending, E55 Eye Shading, E70 Medium Angled Shading, E65 Small Angle, E30 Pencil, E05 Eyeliner, E70 Concealer

E60 Large Shader: This is perfect for eyeshadow primers although I found this great for applying corrective colour concealer onto the skin and found it really easy to blend with this brush.

E40 Tapered Blending: Even if you only use the eyeshadow applicators that come with your eyeshadows when you buy them, invest in this brush to ensure you get a beautiful eye look every time. This super soft brush blends away any harsh lines and gives that soft shadow effect that’s often so hard to achieve. This is also a multi-tasker as it was perfect for buffing under the eyes after applying concealer to give an air brushed effect. One of my favourite brushes!

E55 Eye Shading: The perfect stubby flat brush for patting loads of colour on the lid. Really like this one!

E70 Medium Angled Shading: This is probably the brush I used the least amount but it was great for putting a sweep of colour with more precision before blending it out.

E65 Small Angle: This is a super eyeliner brush that’s really soft but helps create a beautiful steady line. I used this with gel liner and even though I’m genuinely rubbish at applying liner at the best of times, this brush helped a huge amount.

E30 Pencil: I always find it hard to blend out colour under the eyes while keeping it clean and pretty and this beautiful brush is perfect for bringing colour underneath the lower lashes. This really helped me on the day.

E05 Eyeliner: If you prefer a pencil liner brush to an angled one, this gives great precision brush that gives you good control.

E70 Concealer: This is a nice small brush for applying concealer under the eye or to any troublesome spots on the skin. My big tip though is to use a fluffy brush under the eye afterwards though to get a really flawless finish.

So that’s my haul! I’m delighted with my purchases and can’t recommend Sigma highly enough. I love that they realise you can make incredible brushes that are kind to animals and still sell them at a price that’s reasonable when you consider the quality.

If I’ve tempted you into trying out Sigma, the full range of brushes along with many other goodies can be bought from Irish site Cloud10.

So have you tried Sigma? What are your must have brushes?

20 comments on “Sigma Brushes Haul!

  1. anitabeauty
    May 14, 2012

    That bunny kit looks adorable. I think I’ll have to invest in it

  2. OOHHHHH MYYYY GOOOOOOD! I am beaming with jealousy at the moment! Its all so beautiful!! Well done for taking the plunge :D

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 14, 2012

      Haha I know it’s so pretty can’t believe it’s all mine!:) Really worth investing in though!

  3. Fluffandfripperies
    May 14, 2012

    They look fab! I’ve yet to invest in any Sigma brushes…one of these days, though!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 14, 2012

      Thanks for commenting:) If you were only to get one I’d say try one of the Kabuki foundation brushes, they’re fab!

  4. Adelina
    May 14, 2012

    Wish I got those money lol.
    Check out the Sunshine Award on my blog:http://adelinacarp.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/the-sunshine-award/
    I nominated you; can’t wait to see your answers :).

  5. budziak
    May 14, 2012

    That container is so adorable! I love it. The next time I buy brushes, I know I’m going to get Sigma ones. Thanks for your review, it really reassures me on my future purchase.

  6. Shamila
    May 14, 2012

    I’ve been contemplating over this set for weeks now and was looking for a review on them! Thanks

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 14, 2012

      It’s really good let me know how you get on if you buy it!

  7. Lady D
    May 15, 2012

    *Sigh* <3

  8. Morganvsmorgan
    May 15, 2012

    Oh wow! The pink and blue is so beautiful, would make me so excited to use them! I need to invest in some good brushes, mine are all over the place :/

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 15, 2012

      These are amazing and there’s travel kits in the bunny collection if you want to invest in a smaller kit!

  9. queenpure
    May 20, 2012

    These are amazing fantastic colours ive only started your blog to day and im already loving it !! check out my blog queenpure.wordpress.com thanks x

  10. Sabrina
    August 25, 2012

    The Bunny collection are so cute!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2012 by in Collections, Face, Reviews and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

