Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Skin 79 Gold VIP BB Cream

Ok, I have a confession. I’m obsessed with Skin79. Ever since I tried their Hot Pink BB Cream (before the BB Craze really kicked off over here in Ireland) I knew I had found a companion for all those scary skin days when every other product created a dreaded dry, cakey mask over my skin.

Having fallen in love with the Hot Pink BB Cream, I then ordered the Diamond Prestige Version and after a little research, decided my next purchase would be the Gold Label BB Cream which is aimed at dry skin. So here’s the lowdown:

The product: I love the packaging and the bottle the BB Cream comes in feels glam and well made. My only gripe would be that you can’t see how much product is remaining and have to judge yourself, a scary prospect for a die hard fan like myself who needs her constant supply!

Application: This is definitely dewier than the other two I’ve tried and the colour is more akin to the Prestige Version. This is neutral in tone and doesn’t change colour like the pink version (don’t be scared of the pink one though it magically adjusts to your skin tone after a few minutes.) This is well suited to the paler spectrum although again the pink one adjusts but this is slightly lighter. Like all the Skin79 BB Creams, it applies effortlessly onto the skin whether you apply with with your hands or with a beloved makeup brush. While the Pink and Prestige BB Creams are the only real products that don’t accentuate my dryness, this settles with a dewier finish than the other two and I wouldn’t recommend this particular version to oily gals. If you suffer from dry skin like myself though that isn’t a problem, and even with powder on top your skin still looks dewy and illuminated. I would happily wear the Pink BB Cream alone without powder but this is a little too shiny for me without it.

Result: I love this unsurprisingly. It looks beautiful on and is light weight with the added bonus of an SPF. The product size is very generous and it’s one of the very few, if only brands, where I can layer on product and it doesn’t cake on my skin. The Hot Pink is probably the winner in the overall amazing stakes because it’s still hydrating but has a slightly more matte finish. However, this colour is slightly better and once you have powder on you’re good to go! I’ve also been using this with a very dewy primer so I’m going to try out a more mattifying one to see how that fares and will report back shortly!

From top: Gold, Pink, Prestige, all slightly different but all adjust!

Score: 8.5/10

Pros: Really works, gives beautiful illuminated coverage that remains light, has an SPF

Cons: You can’t buy it in store!

Would I buy again? Definitely!

21 comments on “Skin 79 Gold VIP BB Cream

  1. beyoutifulmakeup
    May 3, 2012

    Ah that’s it I’m going to give in and get one! I need to try which ever one is best for oily skin. Going to look back on your other reviews to remind me of what you said! Great review

  2. Aundrea
    May 3, 2012

    Ohhh they sound great. I’d love to try them :)

  3. themakeupnerd
    May 3, 2012

    You know I love these lol. The Gold is phenomenal on my skin! I’m obsessed with Skin79 now :)

  4. Lil Miss Shanghai
    May 3, 2012

    Skin79 and BRTC are my absolutely two favorite brands of BB creams! I totally approve of your obsession lol

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 3, 2012

      Haha must try BRTC next so! Have you reviewed it??

      • Lil Miss Shanghai
        May 4, 2012

        Hahah I haven’t reviewed it, but I am doing a lil BRTC giveaway in the next week so perhaps I should :P I’m in Asia and picked up a few BRTC sets so be on the lookout for that!

      • smokeyeyesmua
        May 4, 2012

        Oh is the comp open internationally? I wanna enter!

    • Miss P
      May 29, 2013

      hello, do you know if Skin79 products are available in Shanghai?

  5. maganda panda
    May 3, 2012

    You’ve been nominated for the Sunshine award!! Congrats! :)

    http://wp.me/p249m6-6b

  6. Sharon (@Shannairl)
    May 3, 2012

    This looks amazing! I don’t really like any of the BB creams that I’ve tried, my skin tends to get very dried out. Look at the packaging! I’m a sucker for packaging :(

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 3, 2012

      Haha this is honestly a total different beast to the European ones out at the mo’!

  7. MrAJBx3
    May 3, 2012

    wow this looks awesome it doesnt even look that grey! :O xx

    • smokeyeyesmua
      May 3, 2012

      The pink one (the middle in pic) is the one that goes on with a grey cast but after a few mins it totally adjusts!:)

  8. Aundrea
    May 3, 2012

    Hey hun, I’ve given you a sunshine award!

    http://dancinwithdisaster.blogspot.com/2012/05/sunshine-award.html

    Aundrea x

  9. Tina B
    May 12, 2012

    I will be investigating the Prestige, I think it will work for me!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Face, Home, Reviews and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

