Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Forget Lip Butters, try Born Lippy!

The Body Shop’s lip balms have been a long standing favourite of mine and I was suitably giddy when my brilliant boyfriend gave me a set of their balms as part of my Christmas pressie. All of these have been rolling around my various handbags since then and used frequently, although, as a total germ-aphobic person, I wouldn’t dip my manky finger into them when I was out and about unless it was pristine and clean. So reading my mind, The Body Shop have decided to solve my germ-ridden woes and have brought out a range of Born Lippy balm sticks to sit snuggly alongside their gorgeous pots.

This means now I can have the lovely pots at home and bring the sticks out and about with me, yeay!

I was given the plum shade to review and as soon as I applied it, I fell in love. Actually, as soon as I saw the cute packaging I fell in love! This gives a sheer wash of shiny purple love that is just right and I happily wore this on a night out without any other colour underneath. If you like a natural flush of colour on your lips this is the way to go girls! All for just €4.95!

I now must have them all to complete my uber Body Shop balm collection!

EDIT: My incredibly brilliant boyfriend surprised me with two more of these for Easter so take a peek!

They both smell divine, moisturise really well and give a gorgeous natural colour. The lighter pink berry shade gives a very pale pink sparkly sheen while the strawberry gives a gorgeous pink hue, I love them!

Pros: Cruelty free, cute range of colours and moisturising on the lips, cool packaging

Cons: None!

Score: 9.5/10

Would I buy again? I plan on buying them all ASAP!

21 comments on “Forget Lip Butters, try Born Lippy!

  1. That colour looks gorgeous, love the packaging! x

  2. Tina B
    April 5, 2012

    Oooo, these are very cute! I don’t buy a whole lot of lip balm (I usually have one lip product and stick with it if it works) but I might check these out!

  3. Lola
    April 5, 2012

    I love these! The strawberry & raspberry ones are the best haha

  4. xprincessgemx
    April 5, 2012

    Hey I’ve nominated you for versatile blogger award.
    read about it here http://allthingsgemma.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/ive-been-nominated/

  5. Beauty Bird
    April 5, 2012

    I got given the lychee one as a present yesterday, which smells gorgeous! It’s clear but has some sparkle in it. Haven’t used it yet but can’t wait to try it, I like the look of pink berry too xx

  6. productjunkiegirl
    April 5, 2012

    I used to work for the body shop- and i can’t tell you what a pain in the tooshy those lip butters were- i’m so glad they decided to put it in stick form because i hated sticking my finger in the pots. Random, but true! The butters – like the coconut and the shea butter glosses work really well on cold sores and chapped lips. Even now! If you like these you should check out northridge gardens- they have chapsticks that REALLY REALLY moisturize the lips- i never expected it to happen. The Body Shop really makes wonderful vegan eyeshadows, i wish they hadn’t gone out of business in the U.S (bought out by Shisheido)

  7. vonfluffy
    April 6, 2012

    i bought 3 of these in the stick form after reading your review :)

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 6, 2012

      Haha excellent do you like them??? Hope you do if you bought three!!

  8. notablyprettymiss
    April 6, 2012

    Lol I have the same shade! And am looking forward to getting more colors :) I used born loopy when I was younger but stopped using cause of the pot..now, were reunited! :))

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 6, 2012

      Haha had my plum shade on today, nice and moisturising too!!

  9. Ooh! Must have! Love the packaging, too~

  10. sjbkk
    April 9, 2012

    I should check our local The Body Shop shop (lol) if they carry these lip balms. I used to have it in the old packaging, too.

  11. I love Body Shop, and can’t wait to get my hands on some of these lip balms! x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2012 by in Home, Lips, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

