Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Foundations Round-Up: A Whiter Shade of Pale

Finding a properly pale foundation can be a tricky business as I know all too well, so I decided to do a little round-up of my pale foundations so you can take a little peek and see how the shades and finishes compare!

Just to let you ladies know, I’m a pale gal with pink undertones and my skin is combination but more so dry.

Vichy Aera Teint Pure: Clair Ivory

If you’re in any way oily, skip on to the next review because this isn’t for you. This foundation is very light and greasy and will be nice for very, very dry skin but apart from that will leave you looking very shiny even when you’ve just put powder on and will quickly slide off your face. It also doesn’t have an SPF which is a must for me. I didn’t like this one unfortunately.

Score 3/10

Armani Luminous Silk Foundation in 02

Good for pale shades, this gives a lovely finish to skin without looking cakey. I really like it, I just wish they did it in an even lighter shade for an absolutely perfect match. If this shade suits you though, you’re in for a treat. My only gripe is that this doesn’t boast any SPF.

Score 9/10

Max Factor Weightless Foundation in Light Ivory

Fair play to Max Factor for offering some great colour choices in their range of Weightless foundations. This is a properly pale shade that’s more orange in tone to my favourite Lancome one which I’ll mention very shortly. This is also better suited to oilier skin tones as I found it quite drying but offers decent lasting coverage without feeling heavy and has an SPF which is a must.

Score  6/10

Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

I reviewed this foundation in more detail here but it’s well worth mentioning again as it offers a lovely light finish suited to dry skin. The pale shade again was a little too orange for me but for the majority is probably perfect. Well priced and surprisingly nice with the added bonus of an SPF, critical for summer.

Score 7.5/10

Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation

 This oil free and water resistant foundation is suited to oily and combination skins and has a powder finish for added longevity. This is the lightest shade, Porcelain which is far too dark for me. It’s a worthy option for oily gals who want decent coverage and comes in a fair range of shades as long as you’re not too pale.

Score 6/10

Skin79 BB Cream

I have reviewed this already here, but to sum up, this is amazing. This covers any bad skin days and leaves skin looking 100 times better without really looking like you’re wearing make up. I wear this alone as well as mixing it with my normal foundation if my skin is extra dry. This has a slightly grey tinge but will magically adjust to suit your skin tone after a few minutes while also protecting your skin with an SPF 25. The best €12 I’ve ever spent online and a must have for me now!

Score 9.5/10

Lancome Teint Miracle in 007

Ah this really is a miracle foundation. A beautifully pale and uniquely shimmering pink shade, this is illuminating, light and a beautiful match for my skin. It’s great for dry skin although it can still be a little drying around my serious problem areas but that’s a matter I need to adjust with skin care. Honestly with the shade range available and the finish it gives, plus an SPF 15 to boot, this is a total winner in my book. Love it!

However, I’m still trying to work out whether they do in fact test on animals or not as I’ve read a lot of conflicting information. If they don’t, I will definitely repurchase this, if not, with a very heavy heart I’ll have to look elsewhere.

Score 9.5/10

 

From top: Lancome Teint Miracle, Max Factor Weightless Foundation, Skin79 BB Cream, Armani Luminous Silk Foundation, Hourglass Liquid Powder Foundation, Vichy Aera Teint Pure

From top: Lancome Teint Miracle, Max Factor Weightless Foundation, Skin79 BB Cream, Armani Luminous Silk Foundation, Hourglass Liquid Powder Foundation, Vichy Aera Teint Pure

So what’s your favourite foundation and what problems do you encounter when you’re on the hunt for that perfect base? Let me know!

22 comments on “Foundations Round-Up: A Whiter Shade of Pale

  1. Beauty Bird
    March 18, 2012

    This is such a great post! I don’t really bother with foundation as I struggled to find the right one for me (I remember going to the Clinique counter years ago and the sales assistant couldn’t actually find a shade light enough that would suit my pale skin). I’m also prone to breakouts, which makes me nervous about using foundation :s Sales assistants that I’ve encountered don’t really seem to know about the ingredients in make-up and what is pore clogging or not…
    My friend is also very pale and she uses Lancome, so I’d definitely check that one out if I decide to go back to foundation!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 18, 2012

      Ah thanks so much, foundation shopping can really be a minefield at the best of times, especially when you’re investing a fair amount of money in it!

      You should give BB creams a whirl if you’re not a foundation type of gal!

  2. I tend to use moisturizing serum and loose-powder foundation…but do you have any information about the longevity and relative coverage of these foundations? And do any of them have SPF?

    I have seen so much hype about BB creams that I’ve wondered if they couldn’t be a potential alternative – especially for formal occasions, or those very few times when I’m going to be photographed (driver’s license, passport photos…) but still haven’t taken the plunge.

    My biggest problem was having combination skin: some parts of my face are prone to drying, especially in winter; my t-zone is oilier; and, of course, I had the shade-matching problems. I’ve since learned to use a good moisturizing serum, pore-minimizing primer, and then apply the foundation that perfectly matches my skintone -=and=- comes in variable coverage levels. But some days it still drives me batty that I can’t just apply one product and go!!! (Lazy, lazy me.)

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 18, 2012

      Added in some SPF info, should have since it’s always such a big factor for me! I have very unruly skin and it misbehaves a lot and the BB cream is the only thing that seems to keep it in check, then I just mix in some foundation to give a bit more coverage!

      I agree the right primer is absolutely key to making your look last and to give your skin the prep it needs before you go near it with any sort of foundation!

      The Lancome is the best lasting foundation along with Armani and the Hourglass, but I find all last well once I use the right primer and set well with powder or setting spray!

  3. beyoutifulmakeup
    March 18, 2012

    Great round up review ! Love the sound of that BB cream. Didn’t know you can get hourglass over here, where did u pick it up ?

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 18, 2012

      The Hourglass one is a sample I got in that little pot to try out, think you have to order online!

  4. Phyrra
    March 18, 2012

    I love seeing your foundation swatches! I’m on the pale end of the spectrum but i tend to prefer neutral or neutral leaning yellow. The Max Factor looks great on your skin. The Armani looks like a good shade match too. I’ve heard so much about the Lancome, Everyone loves it!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 18, 2012

      Thanks for the comment:) I think Lancome are really hitting their stride with a great selection of foundations that are crucially available in loads of great shades!

  5. burnedsugar
    March 19, 2012

    That’s a very useful post! I struggle with foundations and need to get a new one every month because my skin is dead pale with a yellow base in winter and dark bronzed in the summer. I also have very oily skin and would love something that actually covers my flaws without ruining my skin. Definitely going to try some of these, thanks!

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 19, 2012

      Ah great, thanks for reading and let me know what you end up buying!

      Lancome have another foundation, Teint Idole, which could be better suited to your oily skin and it still comes in the great variety of shades!

      • burnedsugar
        March 22, 2012

        Thanks, I’ll check that one out! :)

  6. carolinemr
    March 19, 2012

    Loved this post, I’m really pale and I find Bobbi Brown is the only thing for it… 00 Alabaster in any of the formulations suits me down to the ground! Glad to see there are others out there rocking their pale skin! :)

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 19, 2012

      Ah thanks:) Yeah I was addicted to fake tan for years but now love being pale, you just have to be careful with your makeup choices to get the best look!

  7. katdollyrouge
    March 19, 2012

    I just HAD to buy Skin 79 BB cream based on your review! I’m hoping the grey-tinge will help cancel out some of the redness in my skin. Can’t wait to get it now! :D

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 19, 2012

      Oh wow excellent really hope it lives up to your expectations! MakeUpAlley and Beaut.ie have other positive reviews of it too if you want further info, let me know how you get on with it!! I’ll be ordering another bottle very soon:)

  8. Coco
    March 19, 2012

    This is a great post, im a milky bar kid myself so have been struggling to fin the right shade before the fake tanning season kicks in!!! i own a bottle of the lancome and my god does it work miracles!!! I really wanna give the rimmel and skin79 a go now too!! x

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 20, 2012

      Fantastic! It’s great that brands are bringing out a greater range of shades to keep everyone happy:)

  9. Aussiegirl
    March 29, 2012

    Just stumbled across your blog & am loving it :)
    Does skin79 test on animals? I’m thinking about trying it out but there’s no way I’m buying it if they do!

    Thanks :)

  10. Eva
    May 1, 2012

    Hi, stumbled on this post while looking for skin79 swatches, so useful. :)

    All of those except hourglass and possibly skin79 (don’t know) test on animals though. :( Vichy, Armani and Lancome are all owned by l’oreal and Max Factor tests too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

