Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Review: Rimmel Scandal Eyes Mascara

After being surprisingly impressed with the Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation recently, I spotted their new Scandal Eyes Mascara on sale for just under €9 in Boots a few days ago and decided to give it a whirl.

So far, Max Factor False Lash Mascara is the best I’ve ever tried but after recently becoming aware of certain brands not being completely animal cruelty free, I decided for my personal use I needed something new. So that’s where Scandal Eyes Mascara steps in, my first trip away from my beloved False Lash Effect Mascara in a few years. Unfortunately, as I didn’t do enough research beforehand, there seems to be some cases where they do test on animals if there is no other alternative, a matter that leaves me feeling a bit frustrated and upset.

Have a read here if you want to hear what the company say for themselves on the subject of animal cruelty.

It’s a personal matter for each and every person but well worth keeping in mind.

But firstly back to the review to judge it on its own merits. Did this live up to the high bar set by False Lash Effect Mascara?

Well yes and no. In it’s funky black and orange bottle, it’s a cute mascara and has a big chunky wand that feels like it’ll show your lashes who’s boss. It does give good coverage which didn’t go flaky and it stayed put throughout the day without migrating anywhere else across my face.

My only misgiving? It just isn’t as good as the Max Factor Mascara. It doesn’t quite give the curl and volume that the False Lash Effect does, a reason why it won me over so easily in the first place. So is this my new mascara favourite? No. It’s definitely good, but just not quite good enough.

Pros: Gives good coverage, nice packaging, Possibily cruelty free but it’s a bit of a grey area, well priced

Cons: The brush is perhaps a little too big, doesn’t give the volume or curl I hoped for

Score: 7/10

Would I buy it again? If it’s a cruelty free product for definite, possibly…

8 comments on “Review: Rimmel Scandal Eyes Mascara

  1. Mandy
    March 15, 2012

    I was almost tempted by this the other day, but like you, I am a Max Factor girl (Lash Blast Fusion for me). The bottle for this is sooo huge! xx

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 15, 2012

      It’s not a bad mascara, just can’t compare to Max Factor yet!:)

  2. Naheeda
    March 19, 2012

    I love some Rimmel mascaras. I haven’t tried this one yet, so I would have loved to see it in you! xxx

  3. Kisty Loiuse
    March 19, 2012

    I BROUGHT IT TODAY IT WAS ONLY £5 AND I,TS MAKES UR EYELASHES REALLY LONGS IT,S PREETYY GOOD :D

  4. summerelle
    April 4, 2012

    I adore this mascara! its one of my favourites :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2012 by in Eyes, Home, Reviews and tagged .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

