Smokey Eyes MUA

Beauty News & Reviews

Review: Antipodes Joyous Serum

My boyfriend and I had an epic holiday in New Zealand so I’m completely biased about the country and anything that comes out of it (Flight of the Conchords is a prime example, if you haven’t checked them out, get ready to burst your seams laughing). This serum comes from New Zealand so instantly I wanted to try it out and give my skin some authentic kiwi care. It’s also vegetarian society approved, another huge bonus for a long time veggie and animal fanatic like myself. So I was two for two before I had even opened up the box!

I wanted to like this, but this product made me love it. I have now decided that every girl needs a serum in their night time routine to give their skin some serious TLC. This oil will conjure up nightmares of waking up with a big greasy face each morning but I’m assuring you that won’t happen. I used this before my moisturiser and my skin is continuing to improve in texture all the time. This will nourish your skin and help fine lines and overall hydration. It also claims to improve skin’s natural production of elastin by up to 60%. Now I’m a bit too young to be able to tell if this is true or not but it’s definitely having an effect on my skin, and feels like a product that would continue to do so, year after year.

Now I only recently reviewed a similar serum (you can read the review here) which I also really liked. This has a lighter scent than the A’Kin Serum, despite a heady cocktail of natural ingredients including blackcurrant, goji berry, raspberry and hibiscus flower. I’d be pushed to say which does a better job, as to be honest they’re both superbly made. Now this isn’t cheap, but neither is it astronomically expensive. It’s around €40 but would last a long time as only a few drops are needed to smooth over your skin.

Girls your skin care routine is all your own design but I have to say, a serum really does make a difference and is worth investing in now to keep your face looking it’s best for years to come!

Pros: Totally natural, vegetarian society approved, helps keep your skin soft and supple, with continued use will combat wrinkles and help elasticity

Cons: It is a little more expensive but that’s reflected in the quality of the product

Marks out of ten: 8/10

Would I buy again: I think I’d be crazy not to when it comes to looking after my face!

So have you tried serums and, if so, what do you make of them?

4 comments on “Review: Antipodes Joyous Serum

  1. Paula Dennan
    March 9, 2012

    Haven’t tried this one but I’m a big fan of serums and oils. I’m currently using the Trilogy Calming Fluid as a serum in the morning and their Rosehip Oil at night. Love them both!

    If you’re looking to try more serums then I recommend Kinvara Skincare’s Rosehip Serum, they’re an Irish brand, natural and organic, the product is really moisturising.

    • smokeyeyesmua
      March 9, 2012

      Thanks for the tip missus, have heard fab things about Trilogy! Haven’t heard of Kinvara but love if they’re an Irish brand and all natural!

  2. Selina
    April 17, 2012

    I love love Antipodes skin care range. I’ve bought myself the Joyous serum, the avocado pear night cream, the spf moisturiser and want to by more but I’ll go bankrupt! Its the best thing ever for my skin. Being a past acne sufferer and now in my 30s, I’ve finally found something that works

    • smokeyeyesmua
      April 18, 2012

      Oh the avocado pear night cream sounds interesting! The serum is the first thing I’ve tried but I really like it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2012 by in Home, Reviews, Skincare and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

